Book Reviews

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

 
71N-hAxibZL - Copy (2)Series
: 
Anna and the French Kiss #1
Edition: Paperback, 372 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Published July 16th 2013 by Speak (first published December 2nd 2010)
Setting: Paris (France), Atlanta Georgia (United States)
Rating: ★★★★★
 

 Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at  the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than  thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her  senior year.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

REVIEW:

“For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.”

First of all I want to applaud Stephanie Perkins’. For an author to be able to make such a strong connection between the reader and the protagonist is amazing. It was so easy for me to relate and fall inlove with all her characters especially Etienne. (I mean who wouldn’t love a guy with a sexy accent?!)

I guess you can say that the main focus of this book was the relationship between the 2 main characters, Anna and Etienne, who slowly fell inlove but doesn’t act on them cause Etienne has a girlfriend and Anna is confused over someone from home.  

Following Etienne and Anna’s relationship just leaves a smile on my face cause they are the cutest couple ever! How they have this bicker, make up thing going on between them. And how they hide the feelings they have for each other thinking that the other doesn’t feel the same way and I just couldn’t handle it! 

And Etienne! 😍

“I don’t care what he thinks. Only what you think.” He holds me tighter. “Like if you think I need to stop biting my nails.”
“You’ve worn your pinkies to nubs,” I say cheerfully.
“Or if I need to start ironing my bed spread.”
“I DO NOT IRON MY BED SPREAD.”
“You do. And I love it.”

AHHHHH! He is the absolute book boyfriend! He is so sweet and kind and confident and… EVERYTHING! AND plus points for his messy brown hair and sexy British accent. 😉

But putting the romance aside the story also shows the relationship they both have with their parents. How they intermingle with new and old friends and as the story progress you can see how they pushed thru with every problems they had and stand up for something they believe was right. This just shows that you sometimes have to forget everyone else and choose what you feel is best for you, cause let’s face it, whatever the decision is you would receive all of the consequences, may it be good or bad.

This book has its mixture of romance, humor and drama making it a fun and easy read. It was all put together wonderfully and I urge you to go and read the book to understand the delightful humor this story offers.

download (4) - Copy

 

 
 
 
2 thoughts on “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Isn’t this book a perfection?? It’s just sooo good and so well written!
    I read it at least once a year bc I enjoy it so much and always like to see what I missed or forgot from the last time.
    But I also noticed that the more times I read this book, the less I like St. Clair. And I was head over hills for him when I first read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

