Book Reviews

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

 

71ZlxOeCx4L - CopyEdition: Paperback, 323 pages
Genre: Adult Contemporary
Published March 27th 2012 by Plume (first published April 14th 2011)
Setting: Nebraska, 1999
Rating: ★★★★
“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you..”

From the award-winning author of Eleanor & Park, Fangirl, and Landline comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel about love in the workplace.

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

REVIEW

“I’d know you in the dark,” he said. “From a thousand miles away. There’s nothing you could become that I haven’t already fallen in love with.”

Attachments was Rainbow Rowell’s first take on adult contemporary. It was the very first book I read by her and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a good experience reading it cause it wasn’t a chick-flick and there was nothing cliché about it. It was so original to begin with and even though Lincoln’s life is the definition of BORING the way she writes about it makes it a fun and interesting read. It was a different take from Fangirl and that was what I liked about Rainbow Rowell. No 2 stories of her are the same thing.

Rainbow Rowell was known for writing about characters where you can easily relate to. But with Lincoln as the main character I didn’t really have that much in common with him. I haven’t experienced half of the things he did but I still loved him as a character. He’s just one of those characters that even though you have nothing similar to him you’ll still understand where he is coming from.

If I was put into the same situation as him I would think that I was doing something wrong but still continue on with it. It’s like… smoking (I don’t smoke). You can’t completely stop doing it. You’ll have to ease out of it slowly or else it would backfire. I got this feeling from him. He can’t completely ignore it because it has been part of his everyday life and it also came to the point where reading the e-mails between these 2 girls was the only urge for him to keep working.

Then we have Beth and Jennifer. Definite friendship goals if I say so myself. They were so true to themselves. They go on their own pace and don’t mind what others think of them. They compliment each other and their equally hilarious, interesting, strong and confident. They support each other every step of the way and if that’s not friendship for you I don’t know what is.

Even though the whole story was told on the point of view of Lincoln you will also be able to get to know and love Beth and Jennifer through their e-mails. Who knew we could learn a lot about a person just by reading their e-mails?

I really loved this book and it was definitely one of my favorite books that I read on 2015. The romance was perfect. The characters were great and lovable. And lastly you get to learn from all of it. The problems. The values. The appreciation. And the whole experience.

I definitely recommend it to anyone who hasn’t read it yet. It’s quite a wonderful take on life. An escape from reality. That’s what I felt while reading it.

download (4) - Copy

Leave a Reply

