Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Books w/ “Hard” Topics

hard.jpg

Hey guys! This is the very first (and I am a bit late) #T5W that I’ll post here in my blog and I am so excited for this! 😆

118368.jpgTop 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme/tag created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) over on Goodreads and now being hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. Basically every Wednesday the members of the group would give out Top 5 books, characters, events, story line, depending on the topic given, and share it on their book blogs, bookstagram, booklr, etc. This week we are showing you guys Books with “Hard” Topics. This ranges from mental health, assault, illness, grief, etc.

I don’t really read a lot of books with this particular topic cause.. my heart can’t take that much emotional turmoil 😂 but I have a few here that I really enjoyed.

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars.jpgThe Fault in our Stars by John Green 

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

I don’t think this book being here is a surprise to anyone. This was the very first John Green book I’ve read in my whole life. It made me bawl my eyes out for a good 45 minutes after finishing the book. John Green did a wonderful job with this book and it deserves all the hype it got. It was beautiful, meaningful and it will definitely touch your heart and break everything inside of you. 😫 But still it was a wonderful read.

411MJMpTseL.jpgThirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

When I was reading this I realized that every action I make affects someone else in my life, may it be positively or negatively. It made me see how mere words can lead someone to do this to themselves. The whole time I was reading it I can’t help but beg her to stop and think about it more, but then I would realize that it already happened and in the end nothing will change. She was already gone.

I also loved Jay Asher’s writing style. It was both straight-forward and gripping. He showed us that this matters shouldn’t be taken lightly cause it’s not impossible for this to happen to anyone. You won’t be able to see death and suicide the same way. This book was over all a valuable lesson with a heartbreaking choice.

Tuesdays_with_Morrie_book_cover.jpgTuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, and gave you sound advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago.

Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of this mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded. Wouldn’t you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you?

Mitch Albom had that second chance. He rediscovered Morrie in the last months of the older man’s life. Knowing he was dying of ALS – or motor neurone disease – Mitch visited Morrie in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final ‘class’: lessons in how to live.

I read this for a book report in school and I just had to put this here. I read this in one sitting and it’s also another book that made me bawl my eyes out. I respect how brave Morrie was seeing that he knows he won’t be alive for long. Instead of being depress and sad about it he made good of the time he has left. He was filled with such happiness and joy and even though he had regrets in life he believed that in the end if you can reconcile with yourself everything would be okay. Morrie was the best life coach anyone could ever had and I thank Mitch Albom for sharing this experience with us. So happy my teacher assigned this book to us.

81YTEW9x8nL.jpgChinese Cinderella: The true story of an Unwanted Daughter by Adeline Yen Mah

A riveting memoir of a girl’s painful coming-of-age in a wealthy Chinese family during the 1940s.

A Chinese proverb says, “Falling leaves return to their roots.” In Chinese Cinderella, Adeline Yen Mah returns to her roots to tell the story of her painful childhood and her ultimate triumph and courage in the face of despair. Adeline’s affluent, powerful family considers her bad luck after her mother dies giving birth to her. Life does not get any easier when her father remarries. She and her siblings are subjected to the disdain of her stepmother, while her stepbrother and stepsister are spoiled. Although Adeline wins prizes at school, they are not enough to compensate for what she really yearns for — the love and understanding of her family.

I’ve read this book a long time ago but I still remember a lot about it. I remember how much I despised Adeline’s parents. This book was both heart breaking and inspiring. Seeing how Adeline achieved all of her dreams in life despite her childhood made me realized that even though a lot of people is pulling you down and neglecting you it doesn’t mean you should give up on your dreams.

“Please believe that one single positive dream is more important than a thousand negative realities.” Very well said Adeline. Very well said. 

22616635.jpgPuddle Jumping by Amber L. Johnson

When it comes to love there’s no such thing as conventional.

Everyone thinks Colton Neely is special.

Lilly Evans just thinks he’s fascinating.

Once friends when they were younger, their bond is cut short due to her accident prone nature and they go their separate ways. Years later, they meet again and Lilly learns that there is something special about the boy she once knew, but she has no idea what it all means. And she’s not sure if she’s ready to find out.

When he walks through the corridor of her school the first day of her senior year, she knows that it’s time to get to know the real Colton Neely. The more she learns, the deeper she falls.

Their friendship grows into love, even as Colton does not express it in words. But one decision threatens to break down the world that Lilly has tried so hard to integrate into and she must figure out if the relationship can survive if they are apart.

This was the book I just recently finished and one of the best books I’ve read so far this year. I don’t know how to express how much I loved this story. It was a beautiful portrayal of a young girl who falls in love with a boy who is considered different and special but is every bit as perfect to her. The love that is contained in this book is honest, true, faithful, powerful and meant to last. Something that anyone would be jealous of.

I definitely recommend anyone to read this. I absolutely loved every part of this book and I hope a lot of people would read it.

The one thing I wish I could explain to people is he’s not what they think he is. Words he’s been branded with could never describe him. He’s not special. He’s extraordinary. To me. And I feel like I am, too, when I’m with him.”

That concludes my very first #T5W post. I hope you enjoyed reading it and thank you for staying until the end. Comment down below what your favorite book/s that deals with “Hard” topics is. I would love to know and maybe I would be tempted to read it. I’ll talk to you on my next blog. Bye! ♥

download (4) - Copy

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books w/ “Hard” Topics

    1. So true. It’s like the whole book is a huge lesson for everyone. I also didn’t think I would enjoy The Fault in our Stars. Actually I wasn’t planning on reading it at that time cause of all the hype but I really really enjoyed it. 😆

      Like

    1. It was good seeing it around cause when I read it not a lot of people have. If you do read Puddle Jumping tell me what you think about it. Not many people I know have read it so I have no one to talk to it about. and I would love to hear your opinion about it. 😁

      Like

  1. Great list! You’ve got some awesome picks on here, I really love Thirteen Reasons Why and Tuesdays with Morrie! I had to read Tuesdays with Morrie for school as well and I’m definitely glad we did, it’s just a super touching book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

