Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Books you’re Intimidated by

intimidated.jpg

Hey guys! Jaed here coming to you live for another T5W!

I know I know “Jaed it’s already Thursday.. why are you doing this now?” Well another Jaed let me tell you why. I just got back from a quick outing with coworkers and I wanted to do this weeks topic so much! So here I am… being a badass and doing a T5W on a Thursday. 😎

118368Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme/tag created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) over on Goodreads and now being hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. Basically every Wednesday the members of the group would give out Top 5 books, characters, events, story line, depending on the topic given, and share it on their book blogs, bookstagram, booklr, etc. This week we are showing you Books that we are INTIMIDATED by.

I am specifically fond of this weeks topic cause I have a TON of books that I am intimidated by. I actually have a lot more than 5 but I was able to narrow it down to this books.

6780439Dark Visions by L.J. Smith *732 pages*

GIFTED AND CURSED

Kaitlyn Fairchild has always felt like an outsider. Her haunting eyes and prophetic drawings have earned her a reputation as a witch. But Kait’s not a witch: she’s psychic. Tired of being shunned, Kait accepts an invitation to attend the Zetes Institute, where she can study with other psychic teens and have a fresh start.

As Kaitlyn learns to hone her abilities with four other gifted students, she starts to discover the intensity of her power – and the joy of having true friends. But those friendships quickly become complicated when Kait finds herself torn between two irresistible guys. Rob is a healer – kind and gentle, he’s surrounded by good energy, while Gabriel is aggressive and mysterious – a telepath concealing his true nature. Together, Rob and Gabriel’s opposing forces start to threaten the group’s stability, and when an experiment traps the five teens in a psychic link – a link that threatens their sanity and their lives – Kaitlyn must decide who to trust and who to love…

This is actually a reread. When my friend found out that I don’t remember anything from this book (cause I’ve read it so long ago) she lent me her copy of it to read again. I was so excited to dive into this but it was so huge that I kept putting it off. 😬

Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima

chima-seven.jpg 

*Synopsis of first book “The Demon King”*

Times are hard in the mountain city of Fellsmarch. Reformed thief Han Alister will do almost anything to eke out a living for his family. The only thing of value he has is something he can’t sell—the thick silver cuffs he’s worn since birth. They’re clearly magicked—as he grows, they grow, and he’s never been able to get them off.

One day, Han and his clan friend, Dancer, confront three young wizards setting fire to the sacred mountain of Hanalea. Han takes an amulet from Micah Bayar, son of the High Wizard, to keep him from using it against them. Soon Han learns that the amulet has an evil history—it once belonged to the Demon King, the wizard who nearly destroyed the world a millennium ago. With a magical piece that powerful at stake, Han knows that the Bayars will stop at nothing to get it back.

Meanwhile, Raisa ana’Marianna, princess heir of the Fells, has her own battles to fight. She’s just returned to court after three years of freedom in the mountains—riding, hunting, and working the famous clan markets. Raisa wants to be more than an ornament in a glittering cage. She aspires to be like Hanalea—the legendary warrior queen who killed the Demon King and saved the world. But her mother has other plans for her…

The Seven Realms tremble when the lives of Hans and Raisa collide, fanning the flames of the smoldering war between clans and wizards. 

I’ve had this series on my iBook for YEARS but I still haven’t read even the first book. I should have put this on my “Books I’m ashamed I haven’t read yet” post cause this is embarrassing. I’m not really intimidated by its size or the number of books in this series but because of the dual perspective of it. I don’t think I’ve ever read books with dual or multi perspective on it so that is why I’m a bit intimidated by this series.

the name of the windThe Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss *662 pages*

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen.

The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature.

A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard.

Okay! I was about to buy this book a week ago but I only saw the mass market form of it and it looks a lot way thicker than it is. I’ve been wanting to read this for so long (as I’ve mentioned on one of my past posts) and I tried to start it on e-book form but it doesn’t feel… the same. I want to be able to touch it and so on. But the main reason I’m intimidated by this is because of the fact (I saw it on goodreads) that it was a science fiction fantasy and as I’ve mentioned I haven’t really read a lot of sci-fi so… yeah.

Gabaldon_outlanderOutlander by Diana Gabaldon *896 pages*

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Another book I currently own! So I bought Outlander on March I believe and I’ve been wanting to pick it up since then. I love historical fiction so I am very excited to read this but what intimidated me about it is not only the size but also the fact that this book is very dramatic and emotional. I’ve watched the 1st season of the TV show (JAMIE FRASER!!!) and I absolutely LOVED it. But it also brought me so much emotional turmoil that I have to prepare myself for that experience again. 😂

way_of_kings_uk.pngThe Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

Speak again the ancient oaths,
Life before death.
Strength before weakness.
Journey before Destination.
and return to men the Shards they once bore.
The Knights Radiant must stand again.

Roshar is a world of stone swept by tempests that shape ecology and civilization. Animals and plants retract; cities are built in shelter. In centuries since ten orders of Knights fell, their Shardblade swords and Shardplate armor still transform men into near-invincible warriors. Wars are fought for them, and won by them.

In one such war on ruined Shattered Plains, slave Kaladin struggles to save his men and fathom leaders who deem them expendable, in senseless wars where ten armies fight separately against one foe.

Brightlord Dalinar Kholin commands one of those other armies. Fascinated by ancient text The Way of Kings, troubled by visions of ancient times, he doubts his sanity.

Across the ocean, Shallan trains under eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece Jasnah. Though Shallan genuinely loves learning, she plans a daring theft. Her research hints at secrets of the Knights Radiant and the true cause of the war.

Guys.. this book has 1008 pages! If that doesn’t intimidate you I don’t know what will. And it already has a 2nd book and guess what… it has 1087 pages!

I loved the Mistborn trilogy and hands down one of the best fantasy books I’ve read but this books.. is just too much. I know I’ll enjoy them but I kept on thinking about the other books I could be reading instead of just focusing on this. And I’m not really talented with reading multiple books at the same time. 😆

Okay! That concludes our T5W for today. I hope you enjoyed it and thank you so much for reading until the end.

So.. what is the most intimidating book you own? I would love to know. Talk to you on the comments! 😗

download (4) - Copy

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books you’re Intimidated by

  1. I have no plans to read Outlander, but those books still terrify me 😂

    I’m also terrified of Sanderson’s and Rothfuss’ books because they’re like epic fantasies and so many pages and really well loved and I’d like to read them, but I don’t know if I’d like them? And I don’t want everyone to hate me 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved the tv show so I wanted to see if i’ll love the books aswell. I was also iffy about reading Sanderson’s books before cause it was high fantasy. I enjoy reading fantasy but the mistborn trilogy was the first hardcore fantasy ive read. It took fantasy on a whole other level. I ended up loving it so much but.. it kinda put me on a slump after it. I guess it took too much out of me. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

