Book Reviews

Puddle Jumping by Amber L. Johnson

puddle jumping
Series: Puddle Jumping #1
Edition: ebook, 124 pages
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Published 2014 by Amber L. Johnson
Rating: ★★★★★

When it comes to love there’s no such thing as conventional.

Everyone thinks Colton Neely is special.

Lilly Evans just thinks he’s fascinating.

Once friends when they were younger, their bond is cut short due to her accident prone nature and they go their separate ways. Years later, they meet again and Lilly learns that there is something special about the boy she once knew, but she has no idea what it all means. And she’s not sure if she’s ready to find out.

When he walks through the corridor of her school the first day of her senior year, she knows that it’s time to get to know the real Colton Neely. The more she learns, the deeper she falls.

Their friendship grows into love, even as Colton does not express it in words. But one decision threatens to break down the world that Lilly has tried so hard to integrate into and she must figure out if the relationship can survive if they are apart.

REVIEW:

“Life is meant to be lived, and if you’re offered the chance to experience things with an extraordinary person, then there isn’t one reason in the world to say no.

Puddle Jumping took me by surprise in the best of ways and definitely was one of the most beautiful love stories I’ve read!

I wasn’t actually planning to read this immediately cause my friends mentioned that the boy has Asperger’s and you know me… I don’t really read a lot of books that concerns mental illness or any illnesses (cause my heart can’t take it.) But they kept pestering me and told me that it was so good and they kept talking about how perfect it was so I gave in and read it. And let me tell you guys.. It may be one of the best decision I made in my whole life. Well the reading part of my life that is. 😉

This story was sweet, unique and it perfectly portrays how a girl (Lilly) falls in love with a boy (Colton) who is considered different by others but is every bit as perfect to her.

This story deals with two main themes. Friendship and love. Friendship cause Lilly and Colton didn’t have that insta love factor like every other romance books. It took them some time to get there cause they were so different from one another.

Colton and Lilly were two great characters… but they were amazing and perfect together.

Lilly was fun, spunky and a total badass (seeing that she was hit by lightning and she acted like nothing major happened when she woked up… in a hospital.) She doesn’t care what others think of her or her relationship with Colton. She only cares about what’s important. I also admire how patient she is with Colton. She knew that having a relationship with him won’t be smooth sailing but she wanted to do her best cause she really loved him.

Colton absolutely stole my heart! I fell in love with his passion for arts (making me want to learn it), his sweetness, kindness, honesty (especially the first time they kissed) and the fact that he doesn’t feel the need to express his feelings so outwardly. He believes that love can be expressed in so many other ways then just saying “I love you.” He shows it with his actions and that totally melted my heart.

I can definitely say that this story is nothing like the typical YA romance books. The love that is contained in this book is something to be jealous of. It was honest, true, faithful, powerful and meant to last. The writing was absolutely perfect and it made me feel so many emotions that I wasn’t expecting to affect me… but it did… and in a very positive way.

I absolutely loved everything about this book and I absolutely recommend it to EVERYONE out there. I read it in one sitting cause it was just that kind of book that you can’t put down even for a minute. The actions and lines of Colton gave me all the feels and I enjoyed every part of it. Imagining he was saying all that to me. #lovelifenonexistent 😄

Before I end this I  just want to assure you guys that this is a feel good story. It does show natural hardships from the situation of both the characters but it was a wonderful journey. The message of unwavering love and acceptance shown was extraordinary and I think everyone will be able to take something meaningful and beautiful from it. ❤️‍

download (4) - Copy

 

6 thoughts on “Puddle Jumping by Amber L. Johnson

    1. Thank you! 💜
      When you’re making a new blog post at the top (below where you put your title) you have this assortment of buttons to choose from. There you will see a text color option (between the justify and paste at text button). You can just click the down arrow, choose what color you want then start typing. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

