Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

adventure.jpg

T5W is live now! I feel like I haven’t done one of this for a while now.

118368Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme/tag created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey on Youtube) over on Goodreadsย and now being hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. Basically every Wednesday the members of the group would give out Top 5 books, characters, events, story line, depending on the topic given,ย and share it on their book blogs, bookstagram, booklr, etc.ย This week we are showing you our favorite books outside ourย comfort zone.

I had a hard time thinking about this but finally had 5 books from different genres. Well.. 2 of them are from the same genre butย let’s just let it pass.ย ๐Ÿ˜

raven's gate.jpg5. Raven’s Gate by Anthony Horowitz (Horror Fiction)

He always knew he was different.
First there were the dreams.
Then the deaths began.

When Matt Freeman gets into trouble with the police, he’s sent to be fostered in Yorkshire. It’s not long before he senses there’s something wrong with his guardian: with the whole village.

Then Matt learns about the Old Ones and begins to understand just how he is different. But no one will believe him; no one can help.

There is no proof. There is no logic. There is just the Gate.

My friend from college actually made me read this book cause she really enjoyed it. At first I was hesitant to read it cause I have never read a horror book before and until now this was the only one I have read. I wouldn’t say it was a favorite of mine but I really enjoyed reading this.

the giver - Copy4. The Giver by Lois Lowry (Classic)

This haunting story centers on Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he’s given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community.

Honestly classics aren’t really my thing from the very beginning. I just have a hard time going thru it but I am really trying my best to change that. ๐Ÿ˜… But I actually did enjoy reading The Giver. It was very different from the usual but it was a very good book.

Tuesdays_with_Morrie_book_cover3. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom (Memoir)

Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, and gave you sound advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago.

Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of this mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded. Wouldnโ€™t you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you?

Mitch Albom had that second chance. He rediscovered Morrie in the last months of the older manโ€™s life. Knowing he was dying of ALS โ€“ or motor neurone disease โ€“ Mitch visited Morrie in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final โ€˜classโ€™: lessons in how to live.

I read this way back in highschool for a book report and really loved it. The story was both heartbreaking and beautiful.

walking disaster.jpg2. Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire (New Adult)

Finally, the highly anticipated follow-up to the New York Timesย bestseller Beautiful Disaster.

Can you love someone too much?

Travis Maddox learned two things from his mother before she died: Love hard. Fight harder.

In Walking Disaster; the life of Travis is full of fast women, underground gambling, and violence. But just when he thinks he is invincible, Abby Abernathy brings him to his knees.

Every story has two sides. In Beautiful Disaster, Abby had her say. Now itโ€™s time to see the story through Travisโ€™s eyes.

This book was the follow-up of Beautiful Disaster which is in the POV of Travis Maddox. This was the first ever New Adult book I have read. Until now I still don’t read a lot of new adult books. I do read some but mostly due to recommendations of friends causeย I have never picked one by myself.

1. Crash series by Nicole Williams (New Adult)

crash

Southpointe High is the last place Lucy wanted to wind up her senior year of school. Right up until she stumbles into Jude Ryder, a guy whose name has become its own verb, and synonymous with trouble. He’s got a rap sheet that runs longer than a senior thesis, has had his name sighed, shouted, and cursed by more women than Lucy dares to ask, and lives at the local boys home where disturbed seems to be the status quo for the residents. Lucy had a stable at best, quirky at worst, upbringing. She lives for wearing the satin down on her ballet shoes, has her sights set on Juilliard, and has been careful to keep trouble out of her life. Up until now.

Jude’s everything she needs to stay away from if she wants to separate her past from her future. Staying away, she’s about to find out, is the only thing she’s incapable of.

For Lucy Larson and Jude Ryder, love’s about to become the thing that tears them apart.

This is my ultimate favorite new adult series. I loved everything about it and I still reread my favorite parts of it until now. This made me open up more to reading new adult books. This was also recommended to me by a friend and I’m glad I did read it.

That is all for todays T5W! What are your favorite books outside your comfort zone? Let me know down below. Talk to you there and on my next blog. BYE!ย ๐Ÿ’œ

download (4) - Copy

 

 

Leave a Reply

